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The California Victim Compensation Program (CalVCP) and 
the California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation 
(CDCR) created this guide to help offenders navigate the  
process of paying their restitution. Created in 1965, CalVCP 
helps victims of crime pay for crime-related bills and is funded 
by restitution fines and orders.

WHAT IS A RESTITUTION ORDER?

Restitution is your repayment to cover financial losses caused 
by your criminal activity. Restitution is ordered at the time of 
your sentencing and is read aloud in court along with your 
sentence. There are two types of restitution: orders and 
fines. The court can order both types of restitution in the 
same case. If you are found guilty in multiple cases, the court 
can order restitution in each case. If your parole or probation 
is revoked, your fine amount doubles since you will then have 
to pay the parole or probation revocation fine which is equal 
to the original fine amount.

The court issues a restitution order for crime-related losses, 
which can include: stolen cash or property, medical bills, car 
repair bills, funeral expenses or other costs. The law requires 
the judge to order you to pay the entire amount of the 
victim’s expenses; there is no maximum amount for this type 
of restitution. You cannot negotiate the amount. The order 
cannot be waived if you don’t have the ability to pay. 

If you are sentenced before the victim’s losses are determined, 
the judge can order restitution at a later date. Once the victim 
determines his/her expenses, the judge will order you to pay 
that amount. In addition, you may also be responsible for the 
expenses of the victim’s family, such as counseling expenses 
or funeral costs.

WHAT IS RESTITUTION?
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The money you pay toward a restitution fine goes into the 
State’s Restitution Fund, an important funding source for 
CalVCP. CalVCP helps victims of violent crimes pay for bills 
that result from crime, including but not limited to: medical, 
dental, mental health treatment, funeral/burial, income or 
support loss. CalVCP can also provide financial assistance to 
family members of crime victims.

IS A RESTITUTION ORDER A LIFE-LONG DEBT?

WHERE DOES THE MONEY FROM THE  
RESTITUTION ORDER GO?

Yes, a restitution order does not go away until it is paid.  
You will still owe restitution even if you declare bankruptcy. 
Any unpaid restitution will be sent to the Franchise Tax Board 
(FTB) for collection.

The money you pay toward a restitution order goes to the 
victim to pay for the losses caused by your criminal offense(s). 
However, when CalVCP has already paid for the victim’s losses, 
the judge will order you to repay CalVCP to cover the cost of 
the expenses. CalVCP uses this money to help other victims. 

WHAT IS A RESTITUTION FINE?

A restitution fine is your debt to society. The fine is part of 
your rehabilitation. State law requires all offenders to pay 
a restitution fine. When you are sentenced, the judge will 
require you to pay a restitution fine within a set dollar range, 
depending on the date and type of crime. 

•	 Adult misdemeanor convictions – a minimum of $150 		
	 and a maximum of $1,000

•	 Adult felony convictions – a minimum of $300 and a 		
	 maximum of $10,000

•	 Juvenile misdemeanors – a maximum of $100 

•	 Juvenile felonies – a minimum of $100 and a maximum 		
	 of $1,000

When a restitution fine for more than the minimum amount 
is being considered, the judge will look at the seriousness of 
your crime, the victim’s losses and your ability to pay. Even 
if you cannot pay now, the judge will consider your future 
earning potential. 

How you pay your restitution may vary depending on the 
county where your crime was committed and/or depending 
on the type of crime. Restitution may be collected by one of 
these departments or agencies: 

•	 Court

•	 Probation Department

•	 County Revenue                                              	
	 Departments

•	 Collection agencies

•	 Parole Agents

•	 Division of Adult Parole 		
	 Operations (DAPO)

•	 Local jail or juvenile hall

HOW DO I PAY MY RESTITUTION  
ORDER AND FINES?

•	 Franchise Tax Board (FTB)

•	 California Department of 		
	 Corrections and Rehabilitation 	
	 (CDCR)

•	 CDCR Division of Juvenile 		
	 Justice (DJJ)

•	 Victim Compensation and 		
	 Government Claims Board 		
	 (which governs CalVCP) 

WHERE DOES THE MONEY FROM THE
RESTITUTION FINE GO?
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You may also send money electronically through one of the 
following companies: Jpay (www.jpay.com); Access Secure 
Deposits (www.inmatedeposits.com)

CDCR Trust Accounting
P.O. Box 276088
Sacramento, CA 95827

Payments can be made toward the restitution obligations that 
were part of your State prison sentence by sending a check, 
cashier’s check or money order to CDCR at the address pro-
vided below. It is very important to note your CDC number on 
any payments made to the CDCR Trust Accounting office. 

AFTER I AM RELEASED FROM PRISON, HOW DO  
I MAKE PAYMENTS TOWARD MY RESTITUTION  
OBLIGATIONS?

WHILE I’M ON POST-RELEASE COMMUNITY  
SUPERVISION (PRCS), WHICH AGENCY RECEIVES  
MY PAYMENTS?

Each county is authorized to designate a collection agency that 
will collect restitution payments when someone is released 
to PRCS via Penal Code 2085.6. However, not all counties are 
actively pursuing collection at this time for various reasons. 
CDCR also has the legal authority to pursue collection from 
PRCS offenders so it is important that you speak with your 
probation officer to determine which agency has been  
designated for collection at the county level. If you have 
been released on PRCS, CDCR will still refer your case to the 
FTB for collection unless otherwise notified by the county.

If you have questions on payments, contact CDCR at  
877.256.6877, press 1 for restitution collection.

Under normal circumstances, you will either make payment 
arrangements with your probation officer, or the judge will 
determine your payment amounts as part of the court order. 
Payments are usually made to the probation office, a court  
collection unit or the county’s office of revenue and recovery. 
If you are placed on probation, the payment of restitution fines 
and orders may be made a term of your probation.

WHAT IF I AM PLACED ON PROBATION?

CDCR will collect restitution payments. Each month, they will 
garnish 50 percent of any deposits made to your prison trust           
account including money sent in by family or friends, or 
wages earned while you are in prison. 

CDCR collects a 10 percent administration fee on restitution 
collections; however, if you make voluntary payments to-
ward your restitution obligations while you are in prison, 
CDCR will provide a courtesy waiver of the 10 percent fee. 
You or your family may make voluntary restitution payments 
at any time. Make sure your CDC number is included with the 
payment and states that it is “for restitution only.” 

The Board of Parole Hearings (BPH) may look at your 
restitution payment history as one factor, among many, when 
determining whether to grant or deny parole. 

WHAT IF I AM SENTENCED TO PRISON?

5 6



Yes, CDCR refers all cases with restitution orders to the FTB 
for collection after the offender is released from prison. 
Restitution fines are sent to the FTB by CalVCP. However, any 
voluntary payments made toward your restitution obliga-
tions will reduce the amount you owe once your case is 
referred to the FTB. By paying before your case goes to FTB, 
you can avoid paying an additional 15 percent processing fee.

WILL CDCR REFER MY CASE TO THE FRANCHISE TAX 
BOARD FOR COLLECTION EVEN IF  
I AM MAKING VOLUNTARY PAYMENTS?

You can contact CDCR’s Office of Victim and Survivor Rights 
and Services at 877.256.6877, press 1 for restitution collection 
and ask to speak to an adult restitution analyst for balance 
information and to find out the current status of your restitu-
tion obligations. 

CDCR refers all cases with outstanding victim restitution 
balances 90 days after release from prison.

WHO DO I CALL TO FIND OUT HOW MUCH  
RESTITUTION I OWE AND WHETHER IT HAS BEEN 
SENT TO THE FRANCHISE TAX BOARD YET?

•	 Failure to make your restitution payments may be a 		
	 violation of the terms and conditions of your probation.

•	 If you do not pay your restitution fine, money may be 		
	 garnished from your paycheck or bank account.

•	 If you are a juvenile offender and do not pay your 			 
	 restitution in full, you will not receive an honorable  
	 discharge from the Division of Juvenile Justice.   
	 In addition, the judge may deny your request to remove 		
	 your conviction from your record.

•	 When you are discharged from prison, any outstanding 		
	 restitution you still owe will be referred to the Franchise 		
	 Tax Board for collection.

You must pay all outstanding restitution fines and orders 
before you are allowed to leave the state.
For more information, call CDCR’s Office of Victim and  
Survivor Rights and Services at 877.256.6877, press 1 for 
Restitution. 

WHAT IF I AM CURRENTLY ON PAROLE AND WANT 
TO MOVE OUT OF STATE?

WHAT HAPPENS IF I DON’T PAY?
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•	 You or your family may make voluntary payments at 		
	 any time. If you make voluntary payments, you will 			
	 avoid administrative fees.

•	 If you are employed with the Free Venture Program, 		
	 20 percent of your wages will automatically be deducted.

•	 If you are placed in an institution, half of your incoming 		
	 deposits, including ward pay, will be deducted from your 		
	 trust account to pay your restitution fines and orders.

•	 If you are employed while on parole, your parole agent will 		
	 establish a payment plan.

Yes, a parent or guardian who has joint or sole legal and 
physical custody of a minor offender may be responsible 
for the minor’s restitution obligations, including all orders, 
fines and penalty assessments. 

If parents or guardians cannot afford to pay restitution, 
they must show the judge proof. If they cannot pay now, 
the judge will consider the parents’ or guardians’ future 
earning potential.

IF I AM A MINOR, ARE MY PARENTS OR  
GUARDIANS RESPONSIBLE FOR MY  
RESTITUTION OBLIGATIONS?

If you are sent to a Division of Juvenile Justice Institution, 
there are four ways you can pay your restitution.

WHAT IF I AM SENT TO THE CDCR DIVISION OF  
JUVENILE JUSTICE?
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California Victim Compensation Program

P.O. Box 3036
Sacramento California 95812-3036
800-777-9229
www.calvcp.ca.gov

Deaf and hard of hearing: Please call the
California Relay Service at 711.

California Department of  
Corrections and Rehabilitation 

Office of Victim and Survivor Rights and Services: 

P.O. Box 942883
Sacramento, CA 94283-0001
877-256-6877

www.cdcr.ca.gov/victims
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