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State Policies and Procedures Regarding “Gate Money” 

Center for Public Policy Research 

University of California, Davis 

Introduction 

The term “gate money” refers to the predetermined amount of money given to eligible 

inmates upon discharge from state prison. From state to state, however, both the 

amount of money provided and the source of those monies differ. The purpose of the 

current report is to present descriptive information on the gate money policies and 

practices of California; to compare those policies and practices with those of other 

states; and to discuss what little published information is available on how these 

payment amounts are determined, the intended uses of the payments, how inmates 

actually utilize these funds, and—ultimately—whether the provision of gate money has 

an effect on the sizable, nationwide problem of recidivism.  

 

Overview of Gate Money 

For inmates in State prisons throughout the US, certain discharge procedures take place 

prior to their release by parole or sentence completion. Although these procedures vary, 

the goals are the same: to link inmates to crucial services such as job training, 

employment, health care, or drug treatment; to assist the inmate in finding safe and 

stable housing; to provide social support and a structure for daily living in the first days 

and week after release (often identified as a vulnerable time for ex-offenders); and to 

provide a safety net in case of relapse into criminal behavior or substance abuse 

(Freudenberg, 2006).  

 

When looking at the issue of gate money, summarization is difficult, as policies differ 

both between states and based on the situation of the inmate (e.g., length of time served, 

the existence of adequate personal funds).  The gate money model followed in Arizona, 
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however, is fairly common and can therefore serve as a reasonable starting point from 

which to compare other practices. Current law in Arizona dictates that discharged 

inmates receive all funds—up to $50—that have been accumulating in a “dedicated 

discharge account” during the inmate’s time of incarceration (Middle Ground Prison 

Reform, 2003). Such discharge accounts are built up through regular 30% deductions 

from prisoners’ wages (if they have participated in a prison work program) or through 

gifts from families and friends. This account is frozen at $50, and no interest accrues on 

these funds. If a prisoner has not worked, the state will “gift” him or her this money for 

the first release only. In addition to the $50 and whatever money may be in private 

accounts (which are allowed), inmates are provided a set of clothes, and (if eligible) a 

bus or rail ticket to the closest stop outside state lines. According to one corrections 

expert in Arizona, few inmates leave with more than this $50 (Donna Hamm, personal 

communication, October 13, 2007).    

 

In California, State legislation dictates that prisoners paroled or discharged from any 

California Department of Corrections and Rehabilitation (CDCR) institution or reentry 

facility are entitled to $200 upon release (CDCR, 2007). It is the parole agent who is 

responsible for giving out these funds, yet agents do not need to grant their parolees the 

entire sum immediately. Instead, agents may distribute the $200 in installments over a 

period of 60 days following release. Although practices vary, inmates typically receive 

$50 to $100 of the gate money at the time of their first parole officer meeting (Prison 

Law, 2007).  Parolees who have served less than six consecutive months prior to release 

are also eligible for gate money, but are not necessarily eligible for the full $200: 

California penal code dictates that such inmates receive gate funds computed at a rate 

of $1.10 per day served during the revocation term, up to a maximum of $200 (15 CCR § 

3075.2). Such decisions are left to the discretion of an inmate’s parole agent based on 

perceived need, and the perceived likelihood that such money will aid the inmate’s 
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rehabilitation. Unlike Arizona, however, California does not provide free clothing or 

transportation, the costs of which are deducted from the $200.  

 

Further details regarding gate money, personal accounts, and cash assistance 

procedures in California can be found in Appendix A. This information has been taken 

from the Parolee Rights Handbook published by the Prison Law Office of San Quentin, 

California, and includes embedded hyperlinks to all pertinent California State 

legislation. 

 

State-by-State Comparisons of Gate Money Policies and Procedures 

As part of their larger series, The Lock-Up Society, American RadioWorks reporter John 

Biewen spent more than a year following ex-inmates in Raleigh-Durham, North 

Carolina. The resulting radio broadcast and related online publications, entitled Hard 

Time: Life After Prison, utilize case studies, surveys, and other forms of field research to 

highlight the post-release difficulties inmates face. The broadcast and related reports 

also contain current state-by-state comparisons of gate money policies and procedures, 

as Biewen conducted a comprehensive survey of State corrections departments, 

specifically asking: "What do individuals leaving prison in your state get in terms of 

gate money, bus tickets and/or clothing?" Results of this portion of the American 

RadioWorks program can be found in Table 1 (p. 5).  

 

 

 

 

 



 

 4 

To summarize the primary findings of the American RadioWorks state-by-state survey: 

 The gate money provided by State prisons to released inmates ranges from $0 to 

$200, with an average gate money sum of $54.*  

 Nearly one-third of analyzed states provide no gate money to released inmates 

(13 of 45, or 30%). These states are: Idaho, Maryland, Massachusetts, Missouri, 

New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South 

Carolina, Vermont, West Virginia, and Wisconsin. 

 California and Hawaii offer the largest gate money payments ($200); Alaska 

provides a comparable amount of $150. 

 The majority of states maintain a system in which the money given to prisoners 

comes from their own savings, or, in cases where the inmate's savings have not 

reached the maximum allowable sum, the state will make up the difference. 

 Gate money is almost always provided in the form of a check, particularly when 

the sum is over $50, or when the funds being provided are coming from the 

inmate’s personal account. Smaller amounts (e.g., $10) for inmates ruled 

completely indigent are often given in the form of cash.  

 Many states reported that gate money is determined on a case-by-case basis. 

Little information was provided on how and why these various determinations 

are made, but likely factors include inmates’ personal savings, their participation 

in work release programs, and their reported level of social support upon release 

(i.e., whether they are being met by family or friends outside the gates). In many 

states, inmates are provided gate money on their first release from a State prison 

only.

                                                 
* Although all states were surveyed, several states failed to specify the amount of gate money provided, or responded 

that gate money was variable (i.e., decided on a case-by-case basis or based on the inmate’s level of indigence). As a 

result, the descriptive statistics provided here are based on information for 45 states only. 
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TABLE 1. GATE MONEY BY STATE* 

State Amount Additional Comments and Procedures 

Alabama $10  
Inmates receive a suit of clothes, appropriate to the weather, $10, and a bus 

ticket to their county of conviction.  

Alaska $150  Personal property, $150 gate money, if eligible, reporting instructions.  

Arizona $50  

The state withholds 25% of inmates' wages for their "Dedicated Discharge 

Accounts," up to $50. Upon release, inmates receive this $50, whatever money 

is in their private accounts, a set of clothes, and if they are eligible, a bus or 

rail ticket to the closest stop outside the state line. Eligibility depends on 

conditions of release and whether or not a prisoner has previously been 

released or paroled.  

Arkansas $50  Personal property in jacket, $50 check, bus ticket, if needed. 

California $200  
(With six or more months served) inmates are given $200, less cost of clothing, 

and public transportation is provided by facility.  

Colorado $100  

Inmates receive a set of clothing (sweatpants and shirt), $100, and a bus ticket 

to a Colorado state line. If they are on parole and have no family networks, the 

state assists them with finding housing.  

Connecticut $50  

Inmates who served 24 continuous months and are released without 

supervision may be eligible for up to $50 in gate money. Facility 

administrators have discretion to deny gate money to "disciplinary or security 

problem inmates." Inmates with savings of $50 or more are not eligible. Those 

with less are eligible for the difference between their balance and $50. 

Transportation on a case-by-case basis.  

Delaware $50  

Gate money is determined on a case-by-case basis. Indigent inmates who have 

served more than 30 days receive $50. If they are released in an urban area, the 

facility will provide them with bus fare. If they are released in a rural area, 

they are provided with cab fare. 

Florida $100  Prisoners receive a one-way bus ticket within Florida and $100.  

Georgia $25  Inmates receive $25 and a bus ticket.  

Hawaii $200  

Inmates may receive up to $200, divisible into $100 for cash spending money 

and $100 for clothing. Inmates serving sentences of one year or longer are 

eligible. If an inmate is leaving the state, he/she receives no transportation 

assistance. Those traveling back to their county of conviction, may receive 

assistance with a plane ticket. 

http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/alabama.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/alaska.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/arizona.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/arkansas.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/california.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/colorado.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/connecticut.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/delaware.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/florida.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/georgia.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/hawaii.html
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State Amount Additional Comments and Procedures 

Idaho $0  
Appropriate clothing for current weather, a bus ticket on occasion, brown bag 

lunch.  

Illinois $50  

Inmates will receive their own possessions, and a bus ticket to their parole site 

if needed. The administrator of the facility has discretion to dispense $20-$50 

for meals.  

Indiana $75  

Inmates will receive weather-appropriate clothing if necessary. They will 

receive a bus ticket to the closest stop to their planned residence, if no family 

or friends can pick them up. Money from their accounts is mailed to their 

planned residence. If a prisoner's account is empty, he/she will receive up to 

$75 at the discretion of the facility administrator.  

Iowa $100  

According to Iowa Code, inmates shall receive clothing and instate 

transportation according to release conditions. Those who are discharged or 

paroled will leave with $100, either from their own savings or supplied by the 

state. Those on work-release receive $50.  

Kansas $100  Clothing and $100 gate money. 

Kentucky -- Not specified.  

Louisiana $10  
Balance in inmate fund account or $10, bus ticket home (if indigent), clothing, 

personal items, 3-day supply of medication (possibly).  

Maine $50  
Clothing, up to $50, transportation to home or employment or to state border 

in cases of parole.  

Maryland $0  Personal property and reporting instructions, if applicable. 

Massachusetts $0  
Massachusetts does not provide gate money, but if an inmate is determined 

indigent, the state works with local agencies to find housing and employment.  

Michigan Variable 

Michigan provides clothing and a bus ticket within the state. Prisoners are 

released with the money from their accounts. In cases where an inmate has no 

money and no support network, the state provides a "reasonable 

maintenance" for 2 weeks, which covers housing, food, and personal 

necessities. This is a loan to be paid back in 180 days.  

 

http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/idaho.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/illinois.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/indiana.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/iowa.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/kansas.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/kentucky.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/louisiana.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/maine.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/maryland.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/massachusetts.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/michigan.html
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State Amount Additional Comments and Procedures 

Minnesota $100  Clothing and $100.  

Mississippi Up to $100 

For a continuous sentence of one year or less, $15; for more than one and less 

than ten, $25; for more than ten, $75; for 20 or more, $100. In addition, inmates 

receive a bus ticket either to their county of conviction or to a Mississippi state 

line. 

Missouri $0  Inmates receive clothing and a bus ticket if necessary.  

Montana -- Not specified.  

Nebraska $100  Gate money up to $100; bus ticket to anywhere in the contiguous 48 states.  

Nevada $100  

At the director's discretion, a facility may also provide up to $100, a set of 

clothes, and the cost of transportation anywhere in the US or to the offender's 

county of conviction. These costs may legally be taken from the inmate's 

account.  

New Hampshire $100  
Gate money of $100 if from medium-security facility; nothing if from halfway-

house.  

New Jersey $0  
Inmates have their own accounts throughout their incarceration, to which 

relatives can contribute, and they receive this money upon release.  

New Mexico $50  $50 and a bus ticket.  

New York $40  All inmates receive $40 and a bus ticket to their county of conviction.  

North Carolina $0  

Inmates receive their own personal property, any money in their accounts in 

cash, and their ID cards. If they don't have identification, they are issued a 

state ID. The state usually tries to arrange transfers before release dates so that 

prisoners are released close to home. When this is not possible, the state 

supplies a bus ticket home. 

 

http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/minnesota.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/mississippi.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/missouri.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/montana.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/nebraska.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/nevada.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newHampshire.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newJersey.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newMexico.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/newYork.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/northCarolina.html
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State Amount Additional Comments and Procedures 

North Dakota $0  

Prisoners in North Dakota receive no gate money. They are required to work 

during their sentence and the state takes money out of their paycheck to put 

into a "release aid account," which they receive when they are released. When 

inmates have not been able to work during their incarceration, they receive a 

bus ticket.  

Ohio Up to $75 

One set of clothing suitable for weather, plus three sets of underwear and 

socks and other accumulated clothing; from $25-$75 and personal, 

accumulated funds and property; applicable papers.  

Oklahoma $50  

Inmates receive the money from their accounts. If they are indigent, they 

receive $50. If they have no one to pick them up, the state provides them with 

a bus ticket to their county of conviction.  

Oregon $25  (If indigent), $25, dress-outs if no clothing, bus voucher if needed.  

Pennsylvania $0  
Rules and regulation papers and additional information as needed for some 

inmates.  

Rhode Island $0  Personal belongings and any money generated in inmate's account.  

South Carolina $0  
If necessary, inmates receive bus tickets within the state, and a set of clothes 

(which are mostly donated by churches).  

South Dakota $50  

Inmates receive a bus ticket or a ride to their county of commitment, but not if 

they've received such help before. On their first release, inmates leave with a 

minimum of $50 - if their accounts contain less, the state makes up the 

difference. Inmates who have already received gate money will not receive it 

again.  

Tennessee Up to $30 
Least expensive transportation to county/city of planned residence within the 

state, if needed; up to $30; state purchased used clothing.  

Texas $100  
Applicable certificates, plus $100 gate money; bus ticket (if released to Parole 

and Mandatory Supervision).  

Utah $100  

Because of alleged abuse of the gate money system and due to the state 

budget crisis sweeping the nation, the Utah Department of Corrections 

recently announced the overhaul of its gate money program. A spokesman for 

the department said those with determined need will receive more than $100, 

but that far fewer inmates will now be receiving the traditional $100 gate 

money.  

http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/northDakota.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/ohio.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/oklahoma.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/oregon.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/pennsylvania.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/rhodeIsland.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/southCarolina.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/southDakota.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/tennessee.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/texas.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/utah.html
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State Amount Additional Comments and Procedures 

Vermont $0  

Before the recent budget crisis that most states are now facing, the Vermont 

Department of Corrections had leases on apartments throughout the state, in 

which inmates could live during their transition back into the community. 

Budget cuts eliminated that program. Vermont has no formal gate money 

program, but the state does provide transportation to their community 

service-provider when necessary.  

Virginia  -- Not specified.  

Washington $40  
ID and social security card, reporting instructions, transportation (if required) 

and $40 gate money if released from total confinement.  

West Virginia $0  

Release procedures are at the discretion of the facilities, but mainly consist of a 

bus ticket to the county of conviction, money in the amount of such a ticket, or 

a ride to the bus station. Inmates who have not been paroled before may be 

eligible for up to $300 from the Rosenblum Trust Fund, which is a private 

organization, not part of the DOC. 

Wisconsin $0  

The state withholds a percentage of inmates' earnings for a release account, 

payable to them upon their release. They also receive whatever money was in 

their regular account, and a bus ticket to their community if necessary. Some 

inmates can be picked up by their parole or probation officers.  

Wyoming  Variable 

Inmates at the main men's prison receive a bus ticket if they have no one to 

pick them up. If it is a long bus trip, they may receive some money for meals 

along the way. They may also receive clothing if they need it.  

*Biewen, John. (2003, March). Hard Time: Life After Prison [Radio Broadcast]. The Lock-Up Society. St. Paul, MN: American RadioWorks. 

Retrieved October 10, 2007 from http://americanradioworks.publicradio.org 

 

Based on the 45 states for which gate money sums were provided, the following grid provides a 

convenient summary of Table 1: 

 

Gate Money Ranges 
Number of States  

(out of 45) 

$0  13 

$10-$40 7 

$50-$75 11 

100-$150 12 

$200  2 

http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/vermont.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/virginia.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/washington.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/westVirginia.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/wisconsin.html
http://www.ilru.org/html/publications/directory/wyoming.html
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It should also be noted that the gate money figures used to calculate these ranges and 

averages were the reported maximum sums provided by each state. Thus the figures 

necessarily overestimate what the average prisoner truly sees. 

 

Similar state-by-state information on gate money can be found in a 2004 report by the 

National Institute of Corrections (Linke & Ritchie, 2004), which aimed to “show the 

contrasts and variety of reentry approaches, provide information to officials and 

organizations involved in reentry and transition projects, and provide some baseline 

information to measure changes in transition and reentry efforts within state corrections 

systems” (p. 2). Information was collected during 2003 and 2004 via interviews with 

State corrections officials and supplemented with data from agency publications and 

online resources. The results of the report provide similar (but some additional) 

information compared to the RadioWorks report, including expanded details on the 

five large states to which California is often compared in issues of state governance: 

Florida, Illinois, New York, North Carolina, and Texas.  Direct excerpts from the NIC 

report, namely from the “Inmate Release Process” sections for California and these five 

other states, are presented next:  

California: Inmates are released from any of the state facilities. Inmates are 

provided $200 “gate money,” transportation to the nearest bus station, and 

civilian clothes if necessary. Both clothing and transportation costs are deducted 

from the gate money total. 

 

Florida: Offenders with less than $100 in their inmate account and within six 

months of release are eligible to receive $100 “gate money” if they are not 

released to a detaining agency. A bus ticket and clothing are provided as 

necessary. Gate money and personal funds are given to inmates in the form of a 

check. 
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Illinois: Inmates are released from any of Illinois’ correctional facilities. Inmates 

receive a bus ticket to their release site within the state, $10 “gate money” in 

addition to funds in their personal accounts, and civilian clothing if needed. If 

the inmate has personal funds, these monies are given in the form of a check; if 

the inmate is indigent, $10 cash is provided upon release. 

 

New York: All released inmates receive $40 “gate money” plus funds in their 

personal accounts. They also are provided transportation to the county of 

conviction and civilian clothing if needed.  

 

North Carolina: If inmates do not have funds in their personal accounts, they 

may be eligible as indigents for up to $45 of “gate money” to cover 

transportation or other release expenses. Inmates must have served at least 24 

months to be eligible for such assistance. Inmates may also be provided civilian 

clothing if needed. Gate money and personal funds are given to inmates in the 

form of a check. 

 

Texas: Most male inmates are released from Huntsville and females from 

Gatesville, Texas. In Huntsville, a local Baptist Church has a Welcome Back 

Program that assists offenders with linkages to community programs and 

resources. Prison inmates can get $50 plus a bus voucher upon release and 

another $50 when they report to their parole officer. District Offices have “clothes 

closets” to assist those in need, and larger districts have District Resource Centers 

where programs and services are delivered, including referral to community 

resources. Gate money and personal funds are given to inmates in the form of a 

check, which can be immediately cashed at the bus station associated with their 

transportation voucher. 
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Debates Regarding Gate Money 

On the surface, the question of how gate money is intended to be used is fairly 

straightforward: food, clothing, shelter, and other incidentals. The CDCR Parolee 

Information Handbook states the following: 

You will be given gate money when you leave the prison. Do not waste this 

money. Gate money should be used for needs like food, a room, and travel. If you 

get released to a hold, you will not get your gate money until that hold is cleared, 

and you are again released. Talk to your parole agent about your gate money if 

this happens (CDCR, 2007, p. 4).  

 

Because the majority of gate money payments are given in the form of a check, it may 

be difficult to cash for those leaving prison with no form of official identification. Some 

states do release a portion of an inmate’s gate money in cash and the balance in check 

form, while still others provide the money in the form of a debit card or mail checks to 

inmates within 30 days of release (American Corrections Association, 2007). Initial 

meetings with parole officers typically take place the day of and/or the day after release, 

and many parole officers have the discretion to provide small emergency loans to 

parolees for basic necessities. Although, anecdotally, corrections officials and frontline 

workers fear gate money and other loans may go toward the purchase of drugs, no 

formal research was found to bolster or mitigate such fears. 

 

Gate money is a topic often discussed by advocacy groups and grass roots 

organizations dedicated to corrections issues. A 2006 report by the California-based 

Time for Change Foundation, for example, presents the results of two large, qualitative 

studies conducted with paroled women in California (Carter, Ojukwu, & Miller, 2006). 

The majority of the surveyed women reported encountering serious difficulties in the 

weeks and months following release, particularly when it came to employment and 

housing. Over 80% of respondents did not have a job at the time of release, and 56% 
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reported that it had been more than a year since they had been employed full-time. 

Three out of four respondents also reported being homeless at some point; 41% 

reported current homelessness. Many of the women specifically cited a lack of 

immediately available funds as being a serious problem in the days following release.  

 

As a result of these and other findings, the Time for Change report recommended an 

increase in the current $200 allowance, most of which goes into clothing and medical 

needs, and is therefore unavailable for food and shelter in the days that follow. Also 

evident in the report is that the provision of necessities or housing in lieu of cash would 

be just as, if not more, helpful. Similar recommendations were made by the Arizona-

based Middle Ground Prison Reform in their 2003 report, which aimed to make specific 

suggestions to the State legislature and Department of Corrections regarding issues of 

reentry. They recommended that inmates should be able to earn interest on money in 

their prison accounts (e.g., in a dedicated discharge account).  

 

Some researchers, newsletters, and corrections organizations suggest that State funds 

may be better spent on more comprehensive pre- and post-release programming if the 

goal is to prevent recidivism. A 2006 research brief put out in Corrections Today (a 

publication of the American Corrections Association) reported the results of a survey of 

over 1,000 offenders and corrections staff (Braucht & Bailey-Smith, 2006). The survey 

revealed much about inmates’ pre-release concerns and their own beliefs regarding the 

likely cause or causes their recidivism (if any). Gate money, however, did not seem to 

rank high on the list of inmate concerns.  
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Conclusions 

“Understanding individual-level influences on transitions from prison to community is 

a complex conceptual and empirical task” (Visher & Travis, 2003, p. 98). Although 

prisoner advocates suggest that the procurement of basic necessities during the first few 

days of release is crucial for the initial emotional and logistical well-being of these ex-

offenders, gate money is only one piece of the post-release picture.  

 

In contacting corrections officials across the country, the authors of the NIC report cited 

earlier found that most states are “in various stages of change and…expect current 

planning to result in modifications to reentry and transition procedures in the near 

future.” Whether those changes include modifications in gate money policies is not 

known at this time.  

 

Empirical research on the uses and effects of gate money is needed. Fortunately, 

research on gate money is forthcoming from a number of academic and nonprofit 

organizations, including Cornell University and the Urban Institute. As the current 

report has demonstrated, California is among the most generous states in terms of gate 

money. Yet it is unclear what the average prisoner retains of that $200 after deductions 

are made for clothes, transportation, and other medical or victim reparation fees. A 

study on this issue could lend support for the change or continuation of current gate 

money policies.  
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Appendix A 

Penal Code Information Related to Personal Accounts, 

Gate Money, and Cash Assistance for Parolees 
 

 

1. Trust Fund Accounts (Penal Code § 2085) 

Money brought to, earned, or received in prison can be kept in a trust account. Any money in a 

prisoner's trust account must be given to the prisoner upon release. 

 

2. Gate Money (Penal Code § 2713.1; 15 CCR § 3075.2(d); CDC Operations Manual § 81010.6) 

In addition to any trust account funds, prisoners paroled or discharged from a CDC institution 

or reentry facility are entitled to $200.00 upon release. The parole agent is responsible for giving 

out these funds, and need not grant a prisoner the entire lump sum immediately upon release. 

The agent may distribute the $200 in installments over a period of 60 days following release. 

Although practice varies, paroled inmates typically receive at least $50 to $100 of the gate 

money immediately upon release, and many receive the entire $200. Parole violators who have 

served less than six consecutive months prior to release are also eligible for gate money. 

However, these parolees are not necessarily eligible for the full $200. Instead, they will receive 

gate funds computed at a rate of $1.10 per day served during the revocation term, up to a 

maximum of $200.00. 

 

A parolee who is released into a reentry facility may be given a maximum of one half of the 

$200. A parolee who is released into the custody of another state or a local or federal agency, 

may not receive any gate money unless he or she later is released for and available for parole 

supervision. If a parolee needs to purchase a bus ticket or street clothes upon release from 

prison, the parolee must pay for it. The CDC does not provide extra gate money for clothing or 

transportation. 

 

http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=55306924989+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://www.leginfo.ca.gov/cgi-bin/waisgate?WAISdocID=55314325497+0+0+0&WAISaction=retrieve
http://weblinks.westlaw.com/Search/default.wl?RP=%2FWelcome%2FFrameless%2FSearch%2Ewl&n=1&action=Search&CFID=0&db=ca%2Dadc&method=TNC&query=ci%28%2215++CA+ADC+s+3075%2E2%22%29&recreatepath=%2Fsearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&RLT=CLID%5FQRYRLT4845111610&RLTDB=CLID%5FD
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf
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3. Cash Assistance Loans and Bank Drafts (15 CCR § 3705 and CDC Operations Manual § 

81070.1) 

There are also some emergency funds available to parolees through their parole agents. “Cash 

assistance funds” are loans, which CDC expects the parolee to pay back as soon as employment 

and personal circumstances permit. The loans are only granted to parolees when there is a 

critical need and assistance is not available from any other source. The loans are usually for 

amounts under $50. The parole agent's supervisor must approve any loan over $50 any series of 

loans totaling more than $150 in a 30 day period. 

 

The parole agent is also authorized to distribute funds for casework services, which include 

housing, food, and clothing. The agent may authorize a loan of up to $500 to the parolee for 

over-the-counter purchases. The check may be written to either the parolee or the vendor from 

whom the parolee is purchasing items. Once again, the loans are granted on an emergency 

basis, and the parolee must pay the money back as soon as circumstances permit. 

 

A parolee should keep in mind that the parole agent and agent’s supervisor have discretion 

over whether to grant a loan to a particular parolee. A parolee is not automatically entitled to a 

loan. A parole agent’s decision to grant or deny a loan depends whether there is a money 

available and on the circumstances, including the history and needs of the parolee. 

 

 

 

http://weblinks.westlaw.com/Search/default.wl?RP=%2FWelcome%2FFrameless%2FSearch%2Ewl&n=1&action=Search&CFID=0&db=ca%2Dadc&method=TNC&query=ci%28%2215++CA+ADC+s+3075%2E2%22%29&recreatepath=%2Fsearch%2Fdefault%2Ewl&RLT=CLID%5FQRYRLT4845111610&RLTDB=CLID%5FD
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf
http://www.cdcr.ca.gov/Regulations/Adult_Operations/docs/DOM/Ch_8_Printed_Final_DOM.pdf

